Double Dose of Music from DRU – She’s Danger & Give Her What She Wants

January 18, 2012

I know I don’t post a lot of non-hip hop on this blog, but I’ve loved DRU since his days with In Essence, one of Canada’s premier R&B groups (I still go bananas when they drop that ‘You Will Never Find’ ish on Hot97!!), and once he became a solo artist I rinsed the hell out of his single “The One”.

Years later with Juno and MMVA awards under his belt, DRU now hits you with a double dose of goodness. The first track, She’s Danger is an up-tempo dance track produced in LA by Alex G (also producer for M.I.A, Lady Gaga, and T. Pain). On Give Her What She Wants – DRU delivers a fresh new urban vibe with Damon Elliot on production (who’s also worked with the likes of P!NK, Beyonce, Gwen Stefani). Peep the links below…

BTW >> Lookin’ good in that suit, homie!!

I can’t lie – I’d love to hear him on more soulful-type of music, but I’ve never been one to hold a grudge when an artist wants to evolve and expand, so go DRU! His last single, “Gettin’ It In” is doing REALLY well on radio, and that definitely grew on me.  I do like these up-tempo tracks, but if I ever start to feel nostalgic I can just check out some vintage DRU…..


Leave a Reply

