Why I Love My City – Jane & Finch All-Female Cypher

December 19, 2011

If you’re asking where the female emcees are, clearly you haven’t checked Jane & Finch in Toronto.

Shouts out to my ladies at www.Bad-Perm.com for posting this last week, but I just had to share:

First, I was blown away by this all-female cypher and then totally inspired – I just had to put this sh*t on repeat.  Featuring Lola bunz, Rushiie Raw, Badas$ Bukk and Roots, this cypher shows the ladies completely tearing it up, more gutter and raw than A LOT of dudes I’ve heard lately. I’m really proud of the fact that even some of the toughest critics in the city are putting aside the typical T-Dot Screwface to acknowledge how dope each emcee truly is.

The video sparked something  just when I’ve been feeling the drain of 2011 starting to get to me.  Not a single low-cut/revealing top, crazy weave or gimmick to distract – you have no choice but to get slapped in the face with their lyrics and pay attention to what they’re saying.   I can’t wait to see what each of these ladies has in store for next year, and I’m definitely looking forward to seeing and hearing more.

Yet another reason why I’m proud of my city.

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

