Honey Jam Preps for its Sweet 16!

July 15, 2011

Shouts out to everyone who attended the Honey Jam 2011 Media Launch last night!! Attendees got a first look at the list of talented ladies who will be performing in the annual showcase on Thursday August 11th at The Mod Club (Toronto).  I’ve been a part of Honey Jam since the very first showcase waaaaaay back in 1995, and I’ve been a strong supporter ever since. I’ve only missed 1 show in 2001 because I had my daughter a few days before the show, but I was definitely there in spirit!  I’ve had the opportunity to see some of my favorite performers take to the stage over the years, including Jully Black, Tara Chase, Reema Major, Saidah Baba Talibah, Toya Alexis, and more.

This year promises to be on point once again, featuring some ladies that I LOVE (like Jenny Laws, SoJay and Kitana!!) and some new names including child prodigy, Catherine He, who I have a feeling is going to make me question my parenting skills *sigh*….

Anyway, here’s the 411 on Honey Jam – you can also check out www.HoneyJam.com for more info!! On top of that, I’ll be spinning alongside my homie Tasha Rozez, and you know we always dun de place!! LOL….

HERstory:

PhemPhat Entertainment Group was formed in 1995 to foster the growth, education and promotion of women in all aspects of the music business, to break through and establish a presence in areas which have traditionally been “boyz clubs”, not only as artists, but also dj’s, producers, engineers, managers, label owners, and promoters.

Over the last 15 years, PhemPhat has produced the successful all-female talent showcase called “Honey Jam” featuring a wide variety of local dj’s and artists representing hip hop, jazz, gospel, reggae, blues, r&b, dance and spoken word. The Honey Jams are stellar showcases of homegrown talent. Hundreds of artists have played to hyped and capacity crowds including Nelly Furtado, Jully Black, Anjulie, Graph Nobel, Toya Alexis, Natasha Waterman, Melanie Durrant and many more.

Honey Jam 2011 – Celebrating Sweet 16!
Thursday, August 11, 2011
The Mod Club
722 College Street, Toronto
Doors open 7pm, Showtime 8pm SHARP

$20 Advance Tickets
$25 at the door
This is a 19+ event

Tickets available at:
Play De Record
357 Yonge Street

Leave a Reply

